Untitled photo

Website design by Design Photography © Designphotography 2018

The Team from Automotive Event Images Headed up to Winton Motor Raceway for Round Six of the ASBK - Australian Superbike Championship.
Round Six of the event saw competitive racing from all of the riders but championship front runners #17 Troy Herfoss  , #47 Wayne Maxwell , #21 Troy Bayliss and #1 Josh Waters were pushing hard for championship points with only one round remaining.
The Weekend saw an action packed card of racing from all levels with Kawasaki Supersport , Supersport 300 , YMF R3 Cup , GP Juniors and the Australian Sidecar Championships also racing over the weekend. Great weather saw a large crowd attend the Winton track over the Friday, Saturday and Sunday and competitive racing by all riders ensured a enjoyable weekend. 

Pictured - #17 Troy Herfoss

Pictured -#1 Josh Waters

Pictured - # 21 Troy Bayliss

YMI Superbike Race One Results

Race One Having Qualified on Pole Position  #17 Troy Herfoss - Honda CBR RR SP racing for Penrite Honda racing managed to win the action packed  first race which saw the race red flagged after only one lap when #67 Brian Staring crashed his Kawasaki on turn one and after a full race restart and racing got underway for the second time, the race was Red Flagged again  as the leaders were on lap thirteen  when #77 Adam Senior had to abort his race on turn six as his Yamaha Burst into flames into a massive fireball and subsequently the race was declared at the time of the red flag due to the race being 2/3 completed..  
Overall race one top ten placings were-

1. Troy HERFOSS (Penrite Honda Racing, Honda CBR1000SP)

2. Josh WATERS (Team Suzuki ECSTAR, Suzuki GSX-R1000R)

3. Troy BAYLISS (Desmosport Ducati, Ducati 1299 Final Edition)

4. Arthur SISSIS (SA Demolition & Salvage, Honda CBR1000RRSP)

5. Daniel FALZON (Yamaha Racing Team, Yamaha YZF-R1)

6. Mark CHIODO (Team Suzuki ECSTAR, Suzuki GSX-R1000R

7. Ted COLLINS (NextGen Motorsports, BMW S1000RR)

8. Matt WALTERS (Swann Insurance Superbike, Kawasaki ZX-10R)

9. Jamie STAUFFER (Craig McMartin Racing, Ducati Panigale R)

10. Kyle BUCKLEY (Kawasaki BCperformance, Kawasaki ZX-10R)

Pictured # 47 Wayne Maxwell - Yamaha Racing

Pictured #1 - Josh Waters - Team Suzuki Ecstar

Pictured #21 - Troy Bayliss - Demosport Ducati Racing

YMI Superbike Race Two  Results

Having recovered from race one, we set our sights on race two and hoped for a great race and an incident free race two,  but this was not what eventuated.
Race two saw #17  Troy Herfoss  lead, but # 47 Wayne Maxwell would take the ascendency on lap two and lead the race but on lap three the race was red flagged when #27 Jamie Stauffer Slid his Ducati into the tyre wall on turn two and #30 Mark Chiodo Crashed his Suzuki and was not allowed to restart.. 
Race restarted but reduced to 14 laps - On lap one another red flag as #78 Nathan Spiteri crashed his Suzuki on turn seven and required medical attention.     
Upon the third restart, the race would be reduced to 12 laps and Bayliss would lead from Maxwell and Waters.
Maxwell made his move on lap three and would be looking to avenge his crash in race one. In the meantime, Herfoss was content in fourth, holding the championship points advantage he needed to secure the championship.
Maxwell crossed the line to win the race, Herfoss had scored enough points to secure the 2018 YMI Superbike Championship!
Overall Race top ten Placings were - 

1. Wayne MAXWELL (Yamaha Racing Team, Yamaha YZF-R1) 

2. Josh WATERS (Team Suzuki ECSTAR, Suzuki GSX-R1000R)

3. Troy BAYLISS (Desmosport Ducati, Ducati Final Edition)

4. Bryan STARING (Kawasaki BCperformance, Kawasaki ZX-10R)

5. Troy HERFOSS (Penrite Honda Racing, Honda CBR1000RRSP)

6. Daniel FALZON (Yamaha Racing Team, Yamaha YZF-R1)

7. Arthur SISSIS (SA Demolition & Salvage, Honda CBR1000RRSP)

8. Kyle BUCKLEY (Kawasaki BCperformance, Kawasaki ZX-10R)

9. Mitch REES (Carl Cox M-sport, Honda CBR1000RRSP)

10. Glenn SCOTT (GSR Kawasaki, Kawasaki ZX-10R)

Pictured #27 Jamie Stauffer

Powered by SmugMug Owner Log In